PET PRINTS 3D | PRODUCT REVIEW

By Thursday, January 22, 2015 22 , Permalink

Who doesn’t “ooh & aah” over photos of their pets? I know I do even when the photo’s are fuzzy! #ugh Today I am “tickled to Doodle” to introduce you to Pet Prints 3D. A 100% customized full color 3D printed model the likes of which I’ve never seen before.

Pet Prints 3D will take a collection of photos and transform them into something so lifelike, you have to blink twice. To me – they’ve taken it to the next level. #hellosomebody

567

The process was interesting and easy. After our initial email correspondence, I received the following instructions:

Please send us a pile of photos, including but not limited to: (5-10 is best; more if you want to show us more; )

– Profile from both sides standing

– Close up of face

– Photo of dog with mouth open/closed

And let us know what pose you would like Harley posed in (sitting, standing, lying, on side, mouth open/closed, etc.)

Also, please answer the questions below so I can complete a pet profile.

1. Pet’s Name and Gender?

2. Pet’s Age?

3. Pet’s Breed? Pure/Mixed?

4. Any physical defining characteristics that are not obvious from photographs?

5. What makes Harley special?

I ended up sending 16 photos #difficultychoosing and I suggested they select the position they would like to use.

They chose to keep his mouth open…

SECOND-ONE

And they kept him laying down…

FIRST-HALF

Incredible right?

Even Harley thinks it’s a pup…

DSCN7672

This is truly Harley’s “go to” position, and they were “spot on” with capturing it…

000099

When Doodle Dad was stationed in Europe, I collected Lladro’s. Accustomed to that signature look, I was curious as to why “not” the glazed porcelain like finish on Harley. I wanted to know more about this “sandstone-gypsum” specialty blend they used…

88

So of course, I inquired. Here’s a quote from the finishing team:

“Well we’re working with a totally different medium. Porcelain has softer geometry, less customization and requires a completely different finishing process. We can’t really compare the two, it’s like trying to find similarities between sculpting and singing. Our finishing process is all about treating the 3D material for strength and vibrancy. We don’t high-glaze our models because they look more lifelike and less like an artistic rendition.”

DSCN7720

Kira was Harley’s designer. She spent about 6-7 hours total from the initial sculpt to digital feedback, to more feedback after the first test print. #thankyouKira

For a fleeting moment, I thought of sending photos of Leo instead of Harley. But I wasn’t quite ready for that. I am very happy I chose Harley…

One day, I will request one of Leo. #oneday

There are various sizes(and of course prices) which can be found on their website. Harley’s is what they classify as an “in-between” size (somewhere between a standard and medium: 4.5-6 inches in length)…
DSCN7682

Even though Harley would love for me to leave his “mini-me” on the floor for him to sniff, lick and look at all day…

DSCN7702

I like it sitting on the bookshelf  in Doodleville. After all, this is where we spend most of our time…

DSCN7739

For more information about Pet Prints3D please visit their website and if you have specific questions you can either email or call and speak to their petspert!

In full disclosure: I was not compensated for this post. I received a Pet Print 3D model of Harley in exchange for an honest product review. All opinions are my own, swayed only by Harley’s tail wagging and nose sniffing approval.

As always, thanks so much for stopping by – have a Doodle*tastic weekend and be kind to someone – make em smile 🙂

22 Comments
  • Caren Gittleman
    January 22, 2015

    oh my!!!! That is simply incredible!

    • Cathy Bennett
      January 23, 2015

      Thanks Caren, I love my little version of Harley – Darly

  • Christine & Riley
    January 23, 2015

    That is sooo cool. Now I want one done of Mr. joejo!!!

    • Cathy Bennett
      January 23, 2015

      Christine, I have no doubt you would love it too! The hardest part was selecting the photos – that’s probably why I ended up sending 16 instead of 6 LOL

  • DashLilly
    January 23, 2015

    Wow!!!! That really is Harley’s mini me!!! Wow!!!!!

    • Cathy Bennett
      January 23, 2015

      Yes it is Deirdre. I laughed when I watched him try and play with it like I brought him home a puppy or something!

  • Pamela | Something Wagging This Way Comes
    January 23, 2015

    I never saw anything like this. It’s amazing how computers can help designers do such interesting work.

    It’s especially wonderful for people with mixed breed pups. Now that I have my first full bred dog, I see golden retriever tchotchkes all all over the place that look very much like my Honey. But it would be nice to have something that looks like my mixed dogs, Agatha, Christie, and Shadow.

    Very cool.

    • Cathy Bennett
      January 23, 2015

      I agree Pamela, so many times I’ve scanned shelfs looking for a Goldendoodle and walked away empty handed. Now I’ve got a Harley all my very own 🙂

  • Sand Spring Chesapeakes
    January 23, 2015

    That is awesome! I love it!

    • Cathy Bennett
      January 23, 2015

      Thanks so much, JoAnn. It was an exciting review to do!

  • PetPrints 3D
    January 23, 2015

    Cathy and Harley. The review is really wonderful. You are a great writer and as we have much first hand experience with, Harley is a great art subject to look at. The photos are phenomenal and they bring much to the review. I know you asked me all of the additional questions but seeing how much detail you put into the review is really rewarding for us to read as a brand. We hope to work with you again in the future.

    Thank you so very much again. We’re thrilled that you love your mini Harley.
    Thank you to all of your loyal readers and commenters for their kind words as well.

    • Cathy Bennett
      January 23, 2015

      Ashley – it was a pleasure researching and learning about your craft. “Thank you” for your generous gift.

  • Emma
    January 23, 2015

    Pretty neat stuff they do! We were just surprised it was so small, but it is cute and real looking.

    • Cathy Bennett
      January 23, 2015

      Thanks Emma – It’s actually the length of an IPhone (I took a photo of the two together but failed to remember to add it to my post!) – and yes, it’s very real like! Harley keeps wanting to play with it as if it’s a furrend 🙂

  • bichonpawz
    January 24, 2015

    Wow! I love it! Now, I want one of each of the girls! I will have to go over to the website and check it out. Yours came out perfect!

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Cathy Bennett
      January 25, 2015

      That would be too cool for doodle school if you got one for the girls. Please take pics and share with us 🙂

  • Susan and the gang from Life with Dogs and Cats
    January 25, 2015

    That is very, very cool! I love 3D printing and all the possibilities! And what’s not to like about another (mini) Harley!

    –Wags (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats.

    • Cathy Bennett
      January 25, 2015

      This was my first experience Susan, and I was totally blown away at the natural likeness. Two Harley’s – that’s what I call a true treat LOL

  • Jan K
    January 26, 2015

    Wow, that is so cool! I’ve never seen anything like that before. What a neat thing to have, and it looks so perfect where you put it to display.

    • Cathy Bennett
      January 27, 2015

      Thanks Jan. I keep moving it around but I think that’s my favorite location – at least for now! It really does resemble Harley to a tee! I love it. Thanks for stopping by, stay warm…

  • Ann Staub
    January 26, 2015

    OMD – this is awesome! I haven’t seen a pet product quite like this one before. I agree that the less shiny finish does make it seem more realistic. It came out great. Fabulous review!

    • Cathy Bennett
      January 27, 2015

      Thanks Ann, I never saw one quite like that either. I was blown away when it arrived. It’s gotten great compliments too! I’m enjoying it. Take care.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *